Select Page
Home » Discover Rackham » ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award Winners

The ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award recognizes exceptional and unusually interesting work produced by doctoral students. Each year, Rackham invites faculty to nominate outstanding dissertations produced in their programs. The nomination dossiers submitted are then read and discussed by a review panel of faculty members who identify the finalists. Then, members of the Michigan Society of Fellows read the finalists' dissertations, review their merits, and select the winners. Below is the list of winners of the 2017 Distinguished Dissertation Awards, as well as the honorable mentions.

Distinguished Dissertation Award Winners

  • Kevin Golovin, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Kyle Grady, English Language and Literature
  • Wenyu Gu, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Jordan Harrison, Nursing
  • Jeremy Hoskins, Mathematics
  • Jenny Kreiger, Classical Art and Archaeology
  • Oana Mateescu, Anthropology and History
  • Sara Meerow, Natural Resources and Environment
  • Steven Roberts, Psychology
  • Yue Shao, Mechanical Engineering

Distinguished Dissertation Award Honorable Mentions

  • Yubraj Acharya, Health Management and Policy
  • Matthew DeMars, Chemical Biology
  • Daniel Drucker, Philosophy
  • Benjamin Katz, Education and Psychology
  • Laura Kiefer, Chemistry
  • Katherine Lennard, American Culture
  • Xu Liu, Molecular, Cellular, and Developmental Biology
  • Rohini Ramadas, Mathematics
  • Xiang Yin, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Sheng Zheng, Chemical Engineering

Please join us for the award ceremony on Tuesday, April 24.