Select Page
Home » Discover Rackham » Announcing the 2019 Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Award Winners

Through the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Awards, Rackham recognizes scholars who have been nominated by their program for teaching excellence. Winners of this award demonstrate superb skill in teaching, mentoring, and advising. They bring creativity, inspirational commitment, and intellectual excitement to the classroom, discussion section, or teaching lab, and communicate this passion with their undergraduate students.

The 2019 recipients of the Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Awards are:

  • Sahin Acikgoz, Comparative Literature
  • Tiwaloluwa Ajibewa, Kinesiology
  • Dominique Bouavichith, Linguistics
  • Laura Burdick, Computer Science and Engineering
  • Sara Chadwick, Women’s Studies and Psychology
  • Marisol Fila, Romance Languages and Literatures
  • Colleen Frank, Psychology
  • Joseph Gamble, Women’s Studies and English
  • Justin Heck, Political Science
  • Daniel Irvine, Mathematics
  • Seanna Leath, Education and Psychology
  • Sarah McKellar, Education and Psychology
  • Stephen McNamara, Chemistry
  • Jillian Myers, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
  • Timothy NeCamp, Statistics
  • Alessio Ponzio, Women’s Studies and History
  • Jasmine Powell, Mathematics
  • Michael Schleh, Kinesiology
  • Matthew Villeneuve, History
  • Esther Witte, English Language and Literature

The awards ceremony that will honor these talented teachers, as well as the recipients of the faculty mentoring awards given by Rackham, will be held on Monday, April 22, at 3:30 p.m. in the Rackham Amphitheatre with a public reception to follow.