Select Page
Home » Discover Rackham » ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award Winners

The ProQuest Distinguished Dissertation Award recognizes exceptional and unusually interesting work produced by doctoral students. Each year Rackham invites faculty to nominate the dissertations produced in their programs that were outstanding. The nomination dossiers submitted then are read and discussed by a review panel of faculty members who identify the finalists. Then, members of the Michigan Society of Fellows read the finalists’ dissertations, review the merits, and select the winners. Listed here as well are the Distinguished Dissertation Award honorable mentions, who also produced outstanding and noteworthy dissertations.

The recipients of this year’s dissertation awards are:

Distinguished Dissertation Award Winners
Azadeh Ansari, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science 
Nielson Baxter, Microbiology and Immunology 
Yoonseob Kim, Chemical Engineering 
Emily Maclary, Human Genetics 
Elizabeth Mann, Political Science 
Austin McCoy, History 
Cassie Miura, Comparative Literature 
Naveen Narisetty, Statistics 
Sara Rimer, Civil and Environmental Engineering 
Emily Waples, English Language and Literature

Distinguished Dissertation Award Honorable Mentions
Alexander Burnap, Design Science 
Daniel Castro, Psychology 
Susan Cheng, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology 
Eli Fahrenkrug, Chemistry 
Ashley Lemke, Anthropology 
Kathryn Livingston, Pharmacology 
Michael MacDonald, Applied Physics 
Ruth Spooner, English and Education